Minutes of the 8th Annual General Meeting of the British Association for Sexual Health and HIV (BASHH)

Held at the Royal Society of Medicine

Friday 14th January 2011

The President, Dr Keith Radcliffe, was in the Chair.

The meeting commenced at 1.40pm. 93 members were present and the meeting was therefore quorate.

- Apologies for absence had been received from Dr Raj Patel, Ms Katherine Kain and Dr Karen Rogstad.
- 2. The minutes of the seventh AGM held on 8th January 2010 were accepted as an accurate record (proposed by Dr Bingham, seconded by Dr Gupta).
- 3. The 2009/10 annual report, including the accounts, which had been adopted by the BASHH Trustees in December 2010, was received by the membership.
- 4. The General Secretary, Dr Jan Clarke, made a brief statement highlighting some of the main features in the accounts on behalf of the Honorary Treasurer. She commented that the favourable financial position of the Association was based on our continued high income generation coupled with stringent reviews of administration and journal costs and the substantial surplus from the BASHH/BHIVA joint meeting. An investment strategy moving a proportion of the reserves into stocks and bonds has been implemented. The accounts were accepted (proposed by Dr MA Waugh, seconded by Dr Basu Roy).
- Following the advice of the Treasurer, it was agreed that Farringdon and Company would be re-engaged as auditors (proposed by Dr Abbott seconded by Dr AhmedJushuf).
- 6. The membership subscriptions for 2010/11, as set by the Board, were presented to the membership. Rates for all grades of membership are unchanged for those paying by direct debit, with the exception of a surcharge of 10% for UK members choosing to pay by other methods. It was announced that from 2012 subscription rates could be expected to rise in line with the RPI unless the financial position could sustain the status quo.
- Dr James Bingham, Returning Officer, then announced the results of the following elections –
 - Conference and Communication Secretary -Dr Elizabeth Foley; Fellows to the Board-Dr Richard Lau, Dr Cecilia Priestley Dr Helen Ward; Nurse Representative to the Board-Colin Roberts; SAS representative to CGC-Dr Helen Bailey; Nurse Representative to CGC-Louise Brown; Regional Branch Chairs-Dr Sophie Brady (Yorkshire); Dr Damithe Edirisinghe (Merseyside); Dr Kate Schroeder (Wessex); Dr Barry S Peters (SE Thames); Dr Steve Baguely (Scotland); Dr Manoj Kumar Malu (Trent); Dr John Sweeney (North West); Dr Alan Tang (Oxford); Dr Meena Gupta

(East Anglia);Dr K Nathan Sankar (Northern);Dr Philip Kell (South West);Dr Carol Emerson (Ireland);Dr Jillian Pritchard (SW Thames);Dr Nicola Lomax (Wales);Dr Loay David (West Midlands); Dr Alan Smith (Thames NW)Co-opted- Dr Celia Skinner (NE Thames).He commented that this was the first year we had engaged the Electoral Reform Services for an electronic voting process. There had been a smooth and efficient delivery of the results and thanks were offered to Charlene Hannon and her colleagues at ERS. The President thanked the scrutineers, Dr Bingham and Dr Basu Roy. He congratulated all new office bearers and thanked all candidates for their commitment to the Association.

- 8. The President then announced that the Board had awarded Honorary Life Fellowships to Col. Sreenivas Rao and to Prof George Kinghorn, and the Outstanding Achievement Award to Dr Simon Barton. All recipients of these prestigious awards would be invited to give a short address to the Association at presentation ceremonies to be arranged in the following months.
- 9.The Chair of Trustees, Prof Jonathan Ross, then made a brief presentation explaining the remit of the Trustees in monitoring the governance of the Association. He announced the development of the charity over the next year would include constitutional changes in line with charity law, and further details would be communicated when they became available
- 10. The President, Dr Radcliffe, then gave a short address summarising the work of the organisation over the year and thanking the Officers and members for their hard work and support.

The meeting was closed at 2.05 pm.

Dr Jan Clarke General Secretary 17 January 2011



BASHH

British Association for Sexual Health and HIV

Established 2003 through the merger of MSSVD (est.1922) and AGUM (est.1992)

Royal Society of Medicine, 1 Wimpole Street, London, W1G 0AE Tel: 020 7290 2968 Fax: 020 7290 2989 e-mail: bashh@rsm.ac.uk website: www.bashh.org

Agenda for the 9th Annual General Meeting of BASHH

Friday 13 January 2012 at 5 p.m. The Royal Society of Medicine, London

- 1. Apologies for absence.
- 2. Minutes of the 8th AGM held 14th January 2011 ... Enclosure 1
- 3. To receive annual report and accounts (available at www.bashh.org/.)
- 4. Statement by the Honorary Treasurer.
- 5. Appointment of auditors.
- 6. Membership subscriptions 2012/13 ... Encl. 2
- 7. To receive the expenses policy ... Encl. 3.
- 8. Results of 2012 elections Returning Officers: Drs James Bingham and Ratish BasuRoy
- 9. Returning Officers.
- 10. Award of Honorary Life Fellowships.
- 11. Statement by the Chair of Trustees.
- 12. Closing statement by BASHH President.