Minutes of the 12th Annual General Meeting of the British Association for Sexual Health and HIV (BASHH)

Held at the Royal Society of Medicine, London

Friday 09 January 2015

Dr Jan Clarke, was in the Chair and the meeting commenced at 17.00pm.

Sixty one members were registered and the meeting was therefore quorate.

1. Apologies for absence were received from:

Keith Radcliffe Michael Waugh

2. The minutes of the eleventh AGM held on 14 March 2014 have been circulated to the membership and were accepted as an accurate record. The approved minutes will be loaded onto the BASHH website.

3. Statement by the General Secretary

The General Secretary, Dr Elizabeth Foley, gave an overview of the BASHH activities over the past year.

Kingston Smith Association Management (KSAM) became the new support service provider from 1 February 2013, which has given an improved service to the BASHH Board and members.

Dr Foley reported that membership numbers have reduced by 15% which was due to having to move the BASHH bank account and therefore members had to update their direct debit mandates. In July 2013 there were 1167 members and in July 2014 there were 995 members. However this year has seen an encouraging number of applications from new members including non medical members.

The BASHH Articles were found to be not compliant with Companies House and Charity Commission requirements which meant that BASHH members could not vote prior to the elections. A special resolution was passed at the AGM last year which allows pre-voting but some further changes are required to make the Articles fully compliant. Some of the proposed changes need to be approved by the Charity Commission.

4. Statement by the Treasurer

The Honorary Treasurer, Professor Jonathan Ross, made a brief statement highlighting key features in the accounts and noted that the full report was available on the BASHH website.

Overall, Prof Ross reported that BASHH was in good financial shape and had remained financially secure over the past year enabling it to deliver against its charitable objectives and expand its activities.

Prof Ross finished by thanking Gabriela Sepp at KSAM and Jailesh Patel from the Auditors for all their help during the year.

APPROVED

There were questions from the meeting for Prof Ross who confirmed that having electronic copies of the journal would not make any cost saving due to print advertising

Prof Ross was thanked by the meeting for his stewardship of the financial affairs of BASHH.

5. Membership Subscription for 2014/15

Prof Ross reported that the membership rates for 2015/16, as set by the Board, would remain at their current rate for the fourth year running and would not increase in line with RPI.

6. Resolutions

It was noted that the Chair held one proxy vote.

Resolution 1

To receive the audited accounts for the period 1 August 2013 to 31 July 2014 together with the trustees' and auditors' report. (Proposed by Dr Alan Tang and seconded by Dr Martyn Wood).

Resolution 2

To note the retirement, with effect from the close of business of the meeting, of Dr Daniel Richardson, Conference and Communications Secretary, Dr Sris Allan, Fellow to the board of trustees, Dr Alan McOwan, Fellow to the board of trustees, Dr Cecilia Priestley, Fellow to the board of trustees, Mr Colin Roberts, Nurse representative to the board of trustees, and Dr Emily Lord, Doctors in training representative to the board of trustees, as trustees of the Company, which does not require the concurrence of the members at the annual general meeting.

Resolution 3

That Farringdon & Co Ltd of 176 Franciscan Road, London SW17 8HH be re-appointed auditors of the Company, to hold office from the conclusion of this meeting until the conclusion of the next annual general meeting of the Company at which accounts are laid before the Company. The resolution was passed with not abstentions or votes against.

Resolution 4

That the board of trustees of the Company be authorised to determine the remuneration of the auditors of the Company. The resolution was passed with not abstentions or votes against.

Resolution 5

This resolution covers the Company's objects and powers as contained in its articles of association. It was noted that any changes to the articles need to be approved by the Charity Commission. Line 3.1 needs to be deleted and the revised document requires Charity Commission approval. Therefore a special resolution, managed by the ERS, will be put to the March BASHH meeting for approval by the membership.

Resolution 6

This resolution which covers amendments to the regulations of the Company's articles of association was approved by the meeting with one abstention.

7. Appointment of elected trustees and Clinical Governance Group representatives

The results of the 2015 elections were presented by the General Secretary. She reported that these had been conducted by the Electoral Reform Services (ERS)

using a secure online voting website. An option for proxy voting was also introduced for the two contested post.

There were two contested posts - The Nurse Representative to the Board and the Nurse Representative to the Clinical Governance Committee. In total, 13% of eligible voters had voted and 97.5% of the votes were valid for counting. Mrs Kate Day was elected as the Nurse Representative to the Board and Mr Jodie Walker-Haywood was elected as Nurse Representative the CGC.

The other posts were uncontested and the following candidates were elected:-

Board posts	Elected Candidate
Conference and Communications Secretary	Dr Daniel Richardson
Fellow to the Board	Dr Leena Sathia
	Dr John McSorley
	Dr Benjamin Goorney
Doctors in Training Representative to the Board	Dr Anna Hartley
Clinical Governance Committee (CGC)	
East Anglia	Dr Christopher Carne
Mersey	Dr Rachael Elks
North West	Dr Ashish Sukthankar
Northern	Dr Alison Wardropper
South West	Dr Phillip Kell
Thames North West	Dr Sara Day
Thames South West	Dr Usharani Natarajan
Trent	Dr Tana Green
Wessex	Dr Alison Blume
West Midlands	Dr Kaveh Manavi
Nurse Representative to the CGC	Louise Brown

These appointments will take effect from the end of the meeting, to hold office until the second succeeding annual general meeting following this meeting.

Vacant posts

No nominations were submitted for the Thames North East, South West, Scotland, Wales and Yorkshire representative posts to the CGC. It was planned to co-opted appointments to these positions if possible until the next election.

8. Award of Honorary Life Fellowship

The General Secretary announced that the Board had awarded an Honorary Life Fellowship to Dr John Green, who will be presented with his medal in due course.

9. Award Outstanding Achievement award

The outstanding achievement award, can be awarded to any BASHH member. The General Secretary announced that Dr Keith Radcliffe has been nominated and accepted for this award.

APPROVED

10. Any Other Business

There was no further business.

11. Closing Statement by the President

Dr Jan Clarke then delivered a closing statement which highlighted activities during the past year and she thanked all the members and officers for their work for the Association.

The meeting closed at 17.35pm.

Dr E Foley 14 March 2014